Information sur la source Documents des cimetières, Iowa, États-Unis, 1662 à 1999 [base de données en ligne]. Provo, UT, USA: Operations Inc, 2000.
Données originales : Works Project Administration. Graves Registration Project. Washington, D.C.: n.p., n.d.

 Documents des cimetières, Iowa, États-Unis, 1662 à 1999

Ces états de cimetière représentent 76 comtés et le Graceland Cemetery de Sioux City, Iowa, aux États-unis, qui avait été transcrits par la Works Project Administration. En général, les états de cette base de données incluent le numéro de page où l’état peut être trouvé dans l’index WPA, le nom du défunt, la date de naissance, la date de décès, l’âge, le nom du cimetière, le nom de la municipalité et des commentaire supplémentaires s’il y en a.

These cemetery records represent seventy-six counties in Iowa which were transcribed by the Works Project Administration, Graves Registration Project. This collection is the largest compilation of the Iowa WPA cemetery records found in a single place. The database was created from copies of the transcriptions created by the Works Progress Administration; because of multi-generational copies some names were hard to decipher. As with any genealogical index, the data is to be used as a finding aid to original records. Records in this database generally include the page number where the record can be found in the WPA index, the name of the deceased, birth date, death date, age, cemetery name, town name, and additional comments if noted. This collection of Iowa Cemetery records represents an important tool in finding your early Iowa ancestors.

The following counties are included in this database:

Adair, Adams, Allamakee, Audubon, Black Hawk, Boone, Bremer, Buchanan, Buena Vista, Butler, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Cedar, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Clarke, Clay, Clayton, Crawford, Davis, Decatur, Delaware, Dickinson, Emmet, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Fremont, Greene, Grundy, Guthrie, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Kossuth, Lee, Linn, Louisa, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Mills, Mitchell, Monroe, Montgomery, Muscatine, O’Brien, Page, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas, Polk, Poweshiek, Ringgold, Sac, Scott, Shelby, Sioux, Sioux City, Story, Tama, Taylor, Union, Van Buren, Wapello, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Winneshiek, Woodbury, Worth, and Wright.

The Works Project Administration was a relief program created during the presidency of Franklin Delano Roosevelt in the 1930s. The program provided employment for millions of people during the Great Depression.

There were twenty counties that were not indexed by the WPA and therefore are not included in this database. The counties not included are: Appanoose, Benton, Cherokee, Clinton, Dallas, Des Moines, Hamilton, Henry, Howard, Humboldt, Ida, Iowa, Jasper, Lucas, Lyon, Monona, Osceola, Pottawattamie, Warren, and Winnebago.